top of page



I woke up to the news that I am now a 2-time Splatterpunk Award nominee. I am humbled by this news and I'd like to thank everyone who took the time to vote for Weeping Season. And a MASSIVE congratulations to all of those nominated.

Best-selling authors and Splatterpunk Award founders Wrath James White and Brian Keene are proud to announce the nominees for the 2020 Splatterpunk Awards, honoring superior achievement for works published in 2019 in the sub-genres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror. The nominees are recommended by readers, fans and peers. The nominees are as follows.

BEST NOVEL 1. Carnivorous Lunar Activities by Max Booth III (Cinestate/Fangoria) 2. Killer Lake by W.D. Gagliani and David Benton (Deadite Press) 3. Reception by Kenzie Jennings (Death’s Head Press) 4. Lakehouse Infernal by Christine Morgan (Deadite Press) 5. Merciless by Bryan Smith (Grindhouse Press) 6. Toxic Love by Kristopher Triana (Blood Bound Books) 7. They Kill by Tim Waggoner (Flame Tree Press) BEST NOVELLA 1. White Trash Gothic Part 2 by Edward Lee (Section 31 Productions) 2. Saint Sadist by Lucas Mangum (Grindhouse Press) 3. Weeping Season by Seán O’Connor (Uafás Press) 4. How Much To..? by Matt Shaw (Self-Published) 5. One For the Road by Wesley Southard (Deadite Press) 6. Paradise, Maine by Jackson R. Thomas (Alien Agenda Publishing)

BEST SHORT STORY 1. “Breaking the Waters” by Donyae Coles (from Pseudopod) 2. “Angelbait” by Ryan Harding (from The Big Book of Blasphemy, Necro Publications) 3. “Censered” by Christine Morgan (from And Hell Followed, Death’s Head Press) 4. “Shoulder Pain” by Chandler Morrison (from Macabre Museum Magazine) 5. “Param” by Susan Snyder (from Trigger Warning: Body Horror, Madness Heart Press) 6. “Norwegian Woods” by Jeremy Wagner (from The Big Book of Blasphemy, Necro Publications)

BEST COLLECTION 1. Dead Sea Chronicles by Tim Curran (Bloodshot Books) 2. Various States of Decay by Matt Hayward (Poltergeist Press) 3. Dawn of the Living Impaired, and Other Messed-Up Zombie Stories by Christine Morgan (Death’s Head Press) 4. This Is A Horror Book by Charles Austin Muir (Clash Books) 5. Dirty Rotten Hippies and Other Stories by Bryan Smith (Grindhouse Press) 6. Resisting Madness by Wesley Southard (Death’s Head Press) BEST ANTHOLOGY 1. And Hell Followed, edited by Jarod Barbee and Patrick C. Harrison III (Death’s Head Press) 2. The Big Book of Blasphemy, edited by Regina Mitchell and David G. Barnett (Necro Publications) 3. Dig Two Graves, edited by Jarod Barbee and Patrick C. Harrison III (Death’s Head Press) 4. Midnight In The Graveyard, edited by Kenneth W. Cain (Silver Shamrock Publishing) 5. The New Flesh: A Literary Tribute to David Cronenberg, edited by Sam Richard and Brendan Vidito (Weirdpunk Books) 6. Polish Extreme, edited by Edward Lee & Karolina Kaczkowska (Necro Publications)

A panel of judges composed of professionals, critics and scholars in the field will now begin the process of reading each nominated work, and selecting a winner for each category. Winners will be announced at KillerCon, taking place in Austin, Texas this August 7th through the 9th. In addition to the winners, author and editor Edward Lee will receive the annual J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award honoring his significant contributions to the sub-genres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror. Previous recipients are David J. Schow and David G. Barnett.

Recent Posts
bottom of page